Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Acts of Union 1707': Act of Parliament Parliament of England Parliament of Scotland Treaty of Union Kingdom of England Kingdom of Great Britain Kingdom of Scotland Personal union Sovereign state Elizabeth I of England James I of England Union of the Crowns 1707 May 1 London Palace of Westminster Parliament of Great Britain Simon Schama Wars of Scottish Independence Mary I of Scotland Royal Prerogative (United Kingdom) Absolute monarchy Church of England Church of Scotland Solemn League and Covenant Covenanter English Civil War Tender of Union Commonwealth of England Lord Protector Second Protectorate Parliament New Model Army Charles II of England English Restoration Glorious Revolution William and Mary Act of Settlement 1701 House of Hanover Act of Security 1704 Queen Anne Alien Act 1705 Darien scheme Unicameralism Squadrone Volante Pound sterling Shilling Earl of Glasgow Pound Scots James Douglas, 2nd Duke of Queensberry Lord High Commissioner to the Parliament of Scotland