Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'County town': County Republic of Ireland United Kingdom Nottingham Nottinghamshire City status in the United Kingdom County seat United States Local Government Act 1888 Assizes (England and Wales) Bodmin Launceston, Cornwall Cockermouth East Kent Knights of the Shire West Kent Lonsdale (hundred) Newcastle upon Tyne Ilchester Somerton Southwark Newington, London Horsham Devizes Salisbury Encyclopædia Britannica Glasgow Hamilton, South Lanarkshire Paisley Golspie Stranraer Belfast Administrative county England and Wales Metropolitan county Non-metropolitan county Unitary authority County borough A130 road Administrative centre Armagh Aylesbury Beaumaris Bedford Beverley Bilberry Hill Bomere Pool Brecknock Museum Buckingham railway station Bury St Edmunds