Example image of eyePlorer eyePlorer map for 'Jan Smuts and the Old Boers': 1870 1950 Commonwealth of Nations Jan Smuts May 24 Order of Merit September 11 South Africa Statesman Field Marshal General officer Second Boer War League of Nations United Nations Louis Botha Union of South Africa World War I Civil war Prime minister South African Republic Capital (political) Pretoria Union Buildings Governor-General of the Union of South Africa Herbert Gladstone, 1st Viscount Gladstone Cape Colony John X. Merriman Prime Minister of South Africa Afrikaner Bloemfontein British people Christiaan de Wet J. B. M. Hertzog Martinus Theunis Steyn Cabinet (government) Defence minister Interior ministry Elite Het Volk (political party) Afrikaner Bond Orange River Colony South African Party (Union of South Africa) Parliament of South Africa South African general election, 1910 Unionist Party (South Africa) Finance minister Johannesburg Member of Parliament Budget House of Assembly